Oracle MVA

Tales from a Jack of all trades

11gR2 grid install, just some random things I noticed

leave a comment »

Obviously I am intending to spend my weekend on 11gR2, luckily my girlfriend is at some golf-tournament šŸ˜‰ Anyway, here’s a preliminary post with some of the things I noticed while installing 11gR2.

For some time now, I have been installing CRS even if I install a single machine (making it a single node cluster). I use CRS for starting software and protecting the software running on a box. It also enables me to make a single instance database a RAC fairly easy. The first thing I noticed installing CRS (or “grid” as 11gR2 calls it) is this option:

standalone grid - 1

This is going to save me loads of time. Some random screen-shots of other things I noticed:

password syntax

groups

mmm, the OS-group is determined automagically. I am not sure if I like this (yet):

inventory

Automagic fixing of missing prerequisites? Oracle just got DBO-friendly !?

prerequisites

runfixup

The runfixup.sh script uses a response file:

[root@db11gr2]# cat fixup.response
FILE_OPEN_MAX_HARDLIMIT=”65536″
INSTALL_USER=”oracle”
SYSCTL_LOC=”/sbin/sysctl”
SEMOPM=”100″
FILE_MAX_KERNEL=”6815744″
IP_LOCAL_PORT_RANGE=”9000 65500″
RMEM_DEFAULT=”262144″
RMEM_MAX=”4194304″
WMEM_DEFAULT=”262144″
WMEM_MAX=”1048576″
AIO_MAX_NR=”1048576″

Next I started acfsload to play around with asmca, the newĀ ASM creation assistant and to be able to create ASM filesystems accessible for the OS.

asmca

I noticed that asmca actually creates devices:

[root@db11gr2 bin]# ls -la /dev/asm/*
brwxrwx— 1 root oraasm 252, 34305 SepĀ  5 13:38 /dev/asm/vol1-67

These devices do not have to have the ACFS, ext3 would do for a local filesystem.

That’s it for now, time to start playing with the RDBMS install.

Written by Jacco H. Landlust

September 5, 2009 at 2:13 pm

Posted in CRS

Leave a Reply

